St. Joseph Center

Home

St. Joseph Centerís property was given to the Congregation of Holy Cross by Mrs. M. Brady Farrell. It consisted of a house and 170 acres. Brothers stayed in the house and farmed the land. The first Mass was celebrated on the property in 1935 by Rev. J. W. Donahue, CSC. Additional land was purchased to make St. Joseph Center a beautiful piece of property consisting of 400 acres of beautiful farm land and a breathtaking view of the Catskills.

 

When the original house was no longer big enough to accommodate the novices of the Eastern Province, a new building was built and opened on September 15, 1958. St. Joseph Center was a novitiate until 1972; when it became a Spiritual Life Center serving the public.

 

Today, the Center continues to serve as a retreat center as well as a retirement facility for Holy Cross Brothers.

May 8, 2014

St. Joseph Center

495 Maple Lane N

Valatie, NY 12184

 

Phone: 518-784-9481

Fax: 518-784-9494

E-mail: sjcval@gmail.com

 

 

To contact us: